Caps Squirt B1 win the Ice Breaker! Squirt B2s take 3rd, Squirt Cs also prevail!

In a thrilling, overtime victory the Capitals Squirt B1 team beat Edina 5-4 to win the championship game of the Ice Breaker's Squirt B bracket.  The team took an early 2-0 lead, but Edina chipped away to tie the game at 2 goals apiece.  The Capitals surged back to take another 2 goal lead.  Two quick goals by Edina in the third period tied the game and led to overtime.  After three and half minutes of four on four sudden death, the Capitals scored to win the game and the B bracket of our home tournament.  Congratulations to Coach Sandvik and his Squirt B1 team!

The Capitals Squirt B2 team had an outstanding tournament as well, beating Saint Michael-Albertville 2-1 in overtime to win the third place game of the B bracket of the Icebreaker.  Congratulations to Jed Johnson and his Squirt B2 team!

After beating Alexandria in their opening game, the Capitals Squirt C team lost to Moorhead, putting them in a duel with Wayzata in the third place game of the Squirt C Red bracket.  Despite a valiant effort by all the kids, Wayzata prevailed over the Capitals.  Congratulations to Adam Sager and his Squirt C team!

And a huge thank you to tournament organizers Ryan Strom, Leann Farrell and andy hoenisch, who made the Icebreaker a tremendous success this year.  Thank you to all the volunteers who helped out this weekend, and thank you and congratulations to all the teams that participated in the Icebreaker tournament!